Hollyoaks wins Best Soap at 2019 Inside Soap Awards

This is the first time Hollyoaks has won Best Soap at the Inside Soap Awards

| Updated:

Channel 4’s Hollyoaks has won Best Soap at the 2019 Inside Soap Awards – for the first time in the history of the event.

The Channel 4 soap triumphed as the number one soap during the annual awards ceremony, which was held at London’s Sway on Monday (October 7 2019), marking the very first time the show has ever been honoured with the top award since the event was founded by Inside Soap magazine in 1996.

Hollyoaks won Best Soap (Credit: Channel 4)

The awards are voted for by readers of Inside Soap magazine, who voted over the summer for their favourite stars and shows in 18 categories, with Hollyoaks emerging victorious in the coveted Best Soap category.

Hollyoaks also came away with awards for Best Actor, which was given to Adam Woodward for his portrayal of Brody Hudson, as well as Best Actress, which was awarded to Stephanie Davis, who plays Sinead Shelby.

Sinead O'Connor Hollyoaks
Stephanie Davis, who plays Sinead, won Best Actress (Credit: Channel 4)

BBC soap EastEnders tied with ITV’s Emmerdale for the most awards received as both shows bagged four gongs each.

EastEnders took home Best Young Actor, which Kara-Leah Fernandes won for her role as Bailey Baker, Best Bad Boy, for Max Bowden’s portrayal of Ben Mitchell, Funniest Male, which Danny Dyer won for playing Mick Carter, and Funniest Female, which was handed to Lorraine Stanley, who plays Karen Taylor.

EastEnders’ Kara-Leah Fernandes won Best Young Actor (Credit: BBC)

Read More: EastEnders SPOILERS: Lola kidnapped

Whilst Emmerdale won Best Bad Girl for Louisa Clein’s performance as Maya Stepney, Best Partnership, which went to Dominic Brunt and Lucy Pargeter for playing Paddy Kirk and Chas Dingle respectively.

They also took home Best Exit, for Jane Cox’s final performance as Lisa Dingle, and Best Shock Twist, which was awarded for the flashbacks to the big night out.

Emmerdale won Best Shock Twist for the Big Night Out flashbacks (Credit: ITV)

Read More: Faith Dingle to leave Emmerdale in upcoming storyline as Sally Dexter confirms exit 

Elsewhere, acting legend Maureen Lipman was named the Best Newcomer after a whopping 50 years in show business, as she joined ITV soap Coronation Street as Evelyn Plummer last year.

Coronation Street also won Best Show-stopper for Carla’s mental health episode, and Soap Superstar, which was awarded to Sally Dynevor for her portrayal of Sally Metcalfe.

Coronation Street won Best Show Stopper for Carla’s mental health episode (Credit: ITV)

The 2019 Inside Soap Awards winners list:

Best Actor
Adam Woodward – Hollyoaks

Best Actress
Stephanie Davis – Hollyoaks

Best Young Actor
Kara-Leah Fernandes – EastEnders

Best Bad Girl
Louisa Clein – Emmerdale

Emmerdale MAYA
Louisa Clein, who plays Maya Stepney in Emmerdale, won Best Bad Girl (Credit: ITV)

Best Bad Boy
Max Bowden – EastEnders

Best Partnership
Dominic Brunt and Lucy Pargeter – Emmerdale

Funniest Male
Danny Dyer – EastEnders

Funniest Female
Lorraine Stanley – EastEnders

Lorraine Stanley, who plays Karen Taylor in EastEnders, won Funniest Female (Credit: BBC iPlayer)

Best Shock Twist

Best Exit
Jane Cox – Emmerdale

Best Newcomer
Maureen Lipman – Coronation Street

Best Show-stopper
Carla Connor’s Mental Health episode – Coronation Street

Soap Superstar

Sally Dynevor – Coronation Street

Best Drama Star
Rosie Marcel – Holby City

Programme Name: Holby City - TX: n/a - Episode: n/a (No. 32) - Picture Shows: Jac Naylor (ROSIE MARCEL) - (C) BBC - Photographer: Screengrab
Rosie Marcel, who plays Jac Naylor in Holby City, won Best Drama Star (Credit: BBC)

Best Drama Storyline

Best Daytime Star
Ryan Moloney – Neighbours

Best Daytime Soap

Best Soap

Leave us a comment on our Facebook page @EntertainmentDailyFix and let us know what you think!

Related Topics