EastEnders and Hollyoaks lead British Soap Award nominations with 14 nods each

They will be competing against Emmerdale, Corrie and Doctors for the Best British Soap prize

EastEnders and Hollyoaks lead the nominations at this year’s British Soap Awards with 14 nods each.

The BBC One Soap and the Channel 4 show will battle for the main Best British Soap prize alongside regular suspects Coronation Street, Doctors and Emmerdale. EastEnders also has two nods in the Best Actor category courtesy of Danny Dyer (Mick Carter) and Zack Morris (Keegan Baker).

EastEnders’ Kara-Leah Fernandes is up for Best On-Screen partnership and Young Actor, while on-screen brother Keegan is up for Best Actor alongside Danny Dyer (Credit: BBC)

Read More: EastEnders fans hail “superstar” Bailey “the best thing to happen to the show”

They will face stiff competition from Coronation Street’s Jack P. Shepherd (David Platt), Emmerdale actor Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle) and Hollyoaks’ Gregory Finnegan (James Nightingale).

‘Oaks are well represented in the Best Actress category with a nod apiece for Stephanie Davis (Sinead Shelby) and the recently departed Lauren McQueen (Lily McQueen), who will battle with Albert Square star Lorraine Stanley (Karen Taylor), Corrie’s Alison King (Carla Connor) and Emmerdale actress Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle).

Corrie’s Simon Gregson and Kate Ford are amongst those up for Best On-Screen Partnership (Credit: ITV)

Read More: Coronation Street’s Tracy and Steve: The history of their relationship

Lucy is also up for the Best On-Screen Partnership prize alongside Dominic Brunt (Paddy Kirk), and they will face off against Coronation Street’s Simon Gregson and Kate Ford (Steve and Tracy McDonald), Ian Midlane and Adrian Lewis-Morgan – who play Doctors’ Al Haskey and Jimmi Clay – Roger Griffiths and Kara-Leah Fernandes (EastEnders’ Mitch and Bailey Baker), and Nick Pickard and Alex Fletcher, who star as Tony and Diane Hutchinson in Hollyoaks.

Hollyoaks’ Lauren McQueen, who plays recently deceased Lily McQueen, is up for Best Actress along with co-star Stephanie Davis (Sinead Shelby) (Credit: Channel 4)

Read More: Hollyoaks stars pay tribute to co-star as Lily McQueen is killed off in tragic sepsis storyline

And Lucy has a further two nods, with one in the Best Female Dramatic Performance category, and another for Best Single Episode for the emotional ep when Chas and Paddy said goodbye to their baby Grace.

And it could be an even better night for the Dales pair as Dominic also has another nod, in the Best Male Dramatic Performance category.

Emmerdale’s Lucy Pargeter is up for Best Female Dramatic Performance and Best Actress. Dominic Brunt is up for Best Male Dramatic Performance. The pair are nominated for Best Single Episode and Best On-Screen partnership (Credit: ITV)

Read More: Emmerdale SPOILER: Chas and Paddy’s baby will be healthy

Other stars with multiple chances of success on the night include EastEnders newcomer Kara-Leah.

As well as Best On-Screen Partnership, she is up for the Young Actor prize alongside Coronation Street’s Elle Mulvaney (Amy Barlow), Oliver Falconer (Joe Granger-Carmichael from Doctors), Hollyoaks’ Lacey Findlay (Dee Dee Hutchinson) and Joe-Warren Plant, whose Emmerdale alter-ego Jacob Gallagher is involved in a hard-hitting teacher-pupil grooming plot.

The Outstanding Achievement Award and the Tony Warren Award will both be announced on the night.

The British Soap Awards will take place at Manchester’s The Lowry theatre on June 1st, presented by Phillip Schofield.

Read More: Emmerdale airs Jacob’s furious exit and viewers rejoice

British Soap Awards 2019 nominations:

Best British Soap

Coronation Street





Best Actor

Jack P Shepherd (David Platt, Coronation Street)

Danny Dyer (Mick Carter, EastEnders)

Zack Morris (Keegan Baker, EastEnders)

Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle, Emmerdale)

Gregory Finnegan (James Nightingale, Hollyoaks)

Best Actress

Alison King (Carla Connor, Coronation Street)

Lorraine Stanley (Karen Taylor, EastEnders)

Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle, Emmerdale)

Stephanie Davis (Sinead Shelby, Hollyoaks)

Lauren McQueen (Lily McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Villain of the Year

Greg Wood (Rick Neelan, Coronation Street)

Matthew Chambers (Daniel Granger, Doctors)

Ricky Champ (Stuart Highway, EastEnders)

Claire King (Kim Tate, Emmerdale)

Nathan Sussex (Buster Smith, Hollyoaks)

Best Comedy Performance

Patti Clare (Mary Cole, Coronation Street)

Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman, Doctors)

Tameka Empson (Kim Fox-Hubbard, EastEnders)

Nicola Wheeler (Nicola King, Emmerdale)

Jessamy Stoddart (Liberty Savage, Hollyoaks)

Best Newcomer

Alexandra Mardell (Emma Brooker, Coronation Street)

Bethan Moore (Izzie Torres, Doctors)

Ricky Champ (Stuart Highway, EastEnders)

James Moore (Ryan Stocks, Emmerdale)

Talia Grant (Brooke Hathaway, Hollyoaks)

Best Storyline

The impact of Aidan’s suicide (Coronation Street)

Daniel and Zara’s break-up (Doctors)

Knife crime (EastEnders)

Charity’s abuse (Emmerdale)

Footballer abuse (Hollyoaks)

Best Single Episode

Aidan’s suicide and the aftermath (Coronation Street)

‘And the Beat Goes On…’ (Doctors)

Consent (EastEnders)

Chas and Paddy say goodbye to baby Grace (Emmerdale)

Where Do I Belong? (Hollyoaks)

Best Male Dramatic Performance

Rob Mallard (Daniel Osbourne, Coronation Street)

Ian Midlane (Al Haskey, Doctors)

Zack Morris (Keegan Baker, EastEnders)

Dominic Brunt (Paddy Kirk, Emmerdale)

Adam Woodward (Brody Hudson, Hollyoaks)

Best Female Dramatic Performance

Katie McGlynn (Sinead Tinker, Coronation Street)

Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Zara Carmichael, Doctors)

Gillian Wright (Jean Slater, EastEnders)

Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle, Emmerdale)

Nadine Mulkerrin (Cleo McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Best On-Screen Partnership

Simon Gregson and Kate Ford (Steve and Tracy McDonald, Coronation Street)

Ian Midlane and Adrian Lewis-Morgan (Al Haskey and Jimmi Clay, Doctors)

Roger Griffiths and Kara-Leah Fernandes (Mitch and Bailey Baker, EastEnders)

Lucy Pargeter and Dominic Brunt (Chas Dingle and Paddy Kirk, Emmerdale)

Nick Pickard and Alex Fletcher (Tony and Diane Hutchinson, Hollyoaks)

Best Young Actor

Elle Mulvaney (Amy Barlow, Coronation Street)

Oliver Falconer (Joe Granger-Carmichael, Doctors)

Kara-Leah Fernandes (Bailey Baker, EastEnders)

Joe-Warren Plant (Jacob Gallagher, Emmerdale)

Lacey Findlay (Dee Dee Hutchinson, Hollyoaks)

Scene of the Year

Gail’s monologue (Coronation Street)

The crash (Doctors)

Shakil’s funeral (EastEnders)

Cain’s confession (Emmerdale)

Brody confronts his abuser (Hollyoaks)

To vote, visit

Who would you like to see take home an award this year? Leave us a comment on our Facebook page @EntertainmentDailyFix and let us know what you think.