Love Island

Love Island is an ITV2 dating reality show set in Majorca and presented by Caroline Flack.

It first broadcast in its current format in June 2015. The series has subsequently returned for three more series in May 2016, June 2017 and June 2018.

The show originally ran for two series in 2005 and 2006, but the participants were exclusively celebrities.

Episodes from the most recent series aired six nights a week.

It is filmed on location in Majorca, Spain, and see contestants – known as Islanders – couple up with one another for love, friendship or money. The overall winning couple takes home £50,000.

Contestants’ actions and emotions are captured by 69 cameras installed in the Love Island villa.

They can be forced to split and pair up with different partners but any Islander who remains single after coupling is eliminated and dumped from the show.

Eliminations may also occur by public vote, with couples at risk from being booted off the island.

During the final week of the series, viewers decide which couple they want to win the entire show and bag the top prize.

Winning couples have included Jessica Hayes and Max Morley (2015), Cara De La Hoyde and Nathan Massey (2016) and Amber Davies and Kim Cetinay (2017).

The most recent victorious couple are Dani Dyer and Jack Fincham (2018). Dani, the daughter of EastEnders actor Danny Dyer, charmed viewers with her bubbly, warm personality.

2016 contestant Sophie Gradon from Newcastle sadly died in June 2018, aged just 32.

The ex Miss GB model had described her struggles with anxiety and depression in social media posts just months before her death.

In the show, Sophie was one half of the first same-sex couple to feature on Love Island.

In 2018, Love Island won a BAFTA TV award.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »